A personal satellite


Source: wired.com

I have been building and launching model rockets as a hobby but I never thought about sending a satellite to the space since there is a limit: 10,000 ft. altitude maximum. And now I know I was wrong. I just learned that anyone can send a personal satellite to space for $8000:


  Attention wannabe supervillains: Putting your own, personal satellite into orbit is not such a far-fetched idea after all. Interorbital Systems, which makes rockets and spacecrafts, created a kit last year that lets almost anyone with a passion for electronics and space build a satellite. The $8,000 kit includes the price of the launch.

If you would like to put some payload, you could make some out of phones and toys. I would have to think about how to track it and what to do with it if I were to buy one some day.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

