My First American Friend Charles Smith

Charles Smith and Jan Smith     I came to the United States as a graduate student in late 1980s with my broken English and $100 in pocket. And I was put into a classroom in front of American students one week after I landed here. I was their TA for Calculus II. One of the students was Charles Smith. It was at the University of Houston.

Charlie was not a teenager student. He had worked several years before he decided to go back to school and to get his bachelor’s degree. He was a very nice gentleman.

When he realized that I was new to this country and my English was very limited, he came to me and offered helps as much as he could. On one weekend, he and his wife Jan were going to the International Festival in downtown Houston. They picked me up so that I could be there. They also took me to places such as the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, San Jacinto State Park and night club shows. On one weekend, we went to a lake for motor boating. It was so much fun. When I asked whether he could teach me driving. He didn’t hesitate at all and offered his car to me. I remember that he guided me onto I-45 and speeded up to 55 mph for the first time in my life. When I decided to move to the east coast, He gave me an address book and a set of U.S. Presidential stamps of a gift. We had become very good friends already.

Later on, I further moved to the west coast and we still kept contact for years. He told me that they’ve had three children: Chloe Smith, Kevin Smith and Amy Smith. Eventually, we lost contact. It was my fault for being lazy not providing updates to him. When I tried to find Charlie now, I found out that it was almost impossible since both his first name and last names are too common in the United States. But I haven’t given up. That was why I post this entry. Charlie, if you happen to come across this page on the internet, please drop me a line. I am looking forward to meeting you again.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “My First American Friend Charles Smith”

  1. ZZ Says:

    Please drop me a line. I am looking forward to meeting you again.

Leave a Reply

